Brief History of the AIChE North American ChemE Jeopardy Competition

The first ChemE Jeopardy competition was held at the 2011 AIChE Annual Student conference in Minneapolis, Minnesota. This competition and the 2012 competition were organized and run by students from the host schools. Following the 2012 competition the ChemE Jeopardy Subcommittee of the Student Chapters committee was formed to organize and run the competitions. The competitions from 2011 through 2014 involved 9 teams (winner of each region) and consisted of a semi-final round with only single and final jeopardy. The final/championship round consisted of single, double, and final jeopardy. In 2015 the semi-final round was expanded to include single, double, and final jeopardy. The competition continued with 9 teams through 2017. In 2018 the competition was expanded to include 2 teams from the most active regions, which required the addition of a preliminary round of competition that included single, double, and final jeopardy; thus, beginning in 2018 the competition consisted of preliminary, semi-final, and final/championship rounds all with single, double, and final jeopardy. The locations and winners of the North American competition is given in Table 1.

Table 1. Location and Winners of the North American ChemE Jeopardy Competitions.

Year	Annual Student Conference Location	Winning Team
2011	Minneapolis, Minnesota	University of Nebraska
2012	Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania	University of Cincinnati
2013	San Francisco, California	University of Iowa
2014	Atlanta, Georgia	University of Iowa
2015	Salt Lake City, Utah	University of Maryland, College Station
2016	San Francisco, California	Princeton University
2017	Minneapolis, Minnesota	University of California, Berkeley
2018	Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania	University of Texas, Austin
2019	Orlando, Florida	University of Southern California
2020	Virtual	University of Iowa
2021	Boston, Massachusetts	University of Iowa
2022	Phoenix, Arizona	University of Maryland, Baltimore County
2023	Orlando, Florida	University of Iowa