## ETHYLENE PRODUCERS' TECHNOLOGY SUBCOMMITTEE MEETING

Date: Thursday: January 30, 2020

Time: 4:30 to 5:30 PM CDT

# Agenda

Members (\* denotes present at the meeting): VK Arora, Jack Buehler\*, Bala Devakottai\*, Rob Fox, Sanjeev Kapur\*, Robert Krinock\*, Aivars Krumins\*, Ravi Lal, Darren Le Geyt\*, Krishna Merchant, Humera Rafique, Mike Tallman\*, Mark Whitney\*, Tim Zygula\*, Thomas Wieslaw\*, Tiong-Ee Ting\*, Hannah Murnen, Jason Hamilton\*

- 1. Reading of the anti-trust statement
- 2. Five Minutes on Safety
- 3. Approval of December 5, 2019 minutes
- 4. Discuss 2020 Conference
- 5. Elect TSC chair/co-chair for 2021 conference cycle

Preliminary Schedule for the coming cycle:

February 25, 2020 – final papers due to session chairs March 16, 2020 – final PPT's due to session chairs

The 2020 conference will be 29 March-2 April, 2020, in Houston.

### ETHYLENE PRODUCERS' TECHNICAL SUBCOMMITTEE MEETING

Date: Thursday: January 30, 2020

Time: 4:30 to 5:30 PM CDT

#### **DRAFT Minutes**

Action items denoted in **bold underline**.

Location: Greenway Plaza & WebEx

<u>Members:</u> VK Arora, Jack Buehler, Tiong-Ee Ting, Bala Devakottai, Rob Fox, Sanjeev Kapur, Robert Krinock, Aivars Krumins, Ravi Lal, Darren Le Geyt, Krishna Merchant, Humera Rafique, Mike Tallman, Mark Whitney, Tim Zygula, Thomas Wieslaw, Jeff Elam, Hannah Murnen, Jason Hamilton

<u>Present:</u> Jack Buehler, Tiong-Ee Ting, Bala Devakottai, Sanjeev Kapur, Robert Krinock, Aivars Krumins, Darren Le Geyt, Mike Tallman, Mark Whitney, Tim Zygula, Thomas Wieslaw, Jason Hamilton

Distr: Above + <u>ethyleneproducerscommittee@gmail.com</u>

## **AGENDA**

## 1. Reading of the Anti-Trust Statement:

No activity of the Committee shall involve the exchange, collection or dissemination among competitors of information, or be used for the purpose of bringing about or attempting to bring about any understanding or agreement, written or oral, formal or informal, express or implied, among competitors with regard to costs, prices or pricing methods, terms or conditions of sale, distribution, production quotas or other limitations, on either the timing, or volume of production, or sales, or allocation of territories or customers.

### 2. Five Minutes on Safety

Mike Tallman – gave an update on the novel coronavirus, including number of cases and number of deaths and suggestions to keep safe such as wash hands often, avoid people with symptoms, etc.

3. Minutes from past meeting approved by TSC.

- 4. Discussion on Sessions for the 2020 Conference:
  - a. Fundamentals (Bob K. and Jack)
    - Papers are being expedited three papers have been submitted while the remaining three are in progress. Bob and Jack may distribute the papers to subcommittee members for comment.
  - b. Tutorial on Hydrogenation (Bala and Ting)
    - i. Five papers are planned two by Clariant and others by Linde, Shell and Chevron Phillips.
  - c. Future of Olefins (Sanjeev and Mike)
    - i. IHS will give update on market
    - ii. 2<sup>nd</sup> paper will be on disruptive technologies (Braskem)
    - iii. Panel session will be remainder of session
    - iv. Sanjeev and Mike have sent preliminary questions to use in the panel session to panel members TSC members to send additional questions if any to Sanjeev and Mike
- 5. Elect TSC Chair / Co-Chair for 2021 conference cycle:
  - a. Thomas Wieslaw has volunteered to act as TSC Chair for the 2021 conference cycle, and Jason Hamilton has volunteered to act as Co-Chair. The TSC thanks Thomas and Jason for volunteering, and thanks Rob Fox for his three years of chairing the subcommittee.

POST MEETING NOTE: the EPC Main Committee has agreed on the following meeting dates for the 2021 conference cycle; TSC will hold its meetings on these dates also:

June 18, 2020 August 13, 2020 October 15, 2020 December 10, 2020 February 11, 2021

The 2021 EPC conference will be held 18-22 April, 2021, in Dallas, TX