AIChE Knoxville-Oak Ridge Section

Executive Committee Meeting
February 21, 2013
Location – Rothchild Catering and Conference Center

Present: Christine Butcher, Jarrod Clark, Stuart Daw, David DePaoli, Bonnie LaPierre, Paul Taylor

- 1. Meeting Minutes No meeting in January (cancelled due to inclement weather).
- 2. Treasurer's report approved.
 - a. Two new items on report \$555 from AIChE-HQ for July-Sept. local dues; \$20 to TN Secretary of State for annual report. Current balance \$3,007.20.
 - b. Note report does not include cancellation charges for the January meeting.

3. Old Business

a. Elections – a total of 33 ballots were cast to elect the following local section officers and directors for 2013:

Chair: Jarrod Clark (Continuing as Chair)

Chair Elect: Bonnie LaPierre Secretary: David DePaoli Treasurer: Paul Taylor

New Directors 2013-2015: Michael Aident, Stuart Daw, and Chris McBride

Continuing Directors 2011-2013: Thomas Busmann and Kyle Mack

b. Upcoming meetings:

- March 21 Sharon Robinson is coordinating a joint meeting with ASM, to be held at Rothchild. Speaker is Lee McGetrick, on the Carbon Fiber Technology Facility.
- April 18 David DePaoli is arranging program including a tour of the Manufacturing Demonstration Facility, at the ORNL Hardin Valley Campus.
 Speaker is Claus Daniel. Tour will start at 6:00 (Executive Committee Meeting at 5:30), with dinner at a local restaurant (to be determined) after the tour.
- April 25 UT Student Awards Banquet.
- May 16 Stuart Daw is arranging program on ancient cave paintings at McClung Museum. Speaker is Jan Simek.

4. New Business

- a. Local Section Leadership Conference Paul Taylor has information on this year's conference, and will share with Bonnie LaPierre.
- b. Southern Appalachia Science Fair (SASEF)
 - Paul Taylor and Mark Swientoniewski will represent AIChE as judges on April 2.
 - Local section to give two \$50 awards and provide a \$50 donation
- c. Christine Butcher volunteered to start a Young Professional group. Paul Taylor will provide information on eligible participants.